Experience our exclusive offers and premium deals
Book a tour
Blog

How Seniors can Prioritise Their Wellness

28 March 2024

Fitness isn’t just for the young – it’s crucial for seniors too. Our needs change with age, but movement, flexibility, and a strong heart remain vital.
For seniors, physical activity can reduce illnesses, boost cognitive function, enhance bone health, mental health, lower depression, and more. Plus, it’ll help you face common challenges like muscle loss, bone density decline, and slowed metabolism. Exercise can counteract a lot of ageing problems and enhance well-being.
If you’re a senior starting or continuing your fitness journey, we’ve gathered expert advice to help you with tailored routines so you can prioritise your wellness.
Increase flexibility and mobility
Physical flexibility and mobility are the unsung heroes of everyday senior life. Stability ball circles are an excellent starting point for enhancing these areas. They assist in maintaining and improving range of motion, essential for everything from reaching a high shelf to taking a stroll in the park.
Alternatively, yoga poses like the bridging exercise can fortify the body’s central support, strengthening core muscles that contribute to better posture and reduced risk of back pain.
Metabolism conditioning
A common problem for many seniors is a slowing metabolism. To counteract this, the SkiErg, which simulates a cross-country skiing motion in a controlled environment, can be incredibly beneficial. Without the jolting impact of traditional running, it boosts cardiovascular health and muscular endurance. Pair this with the bridging pose to further engage the core and lower body muscles, and you have the beginnings of a powerful regime to maintain a healthy metabolic rate.
Building strength and balance
Pilates, particularly Reformer Pilates, is excellent for seniors due to its focus on controlled movements that build strength and balance. The bridging exercise on a Reformer works wonders for lower back strength and flexibility, crucial for preventing injury and maintaining an active lifestyle. It also helps to engage and strengthen the entire posterior chain, which is essential for stability and mobility as we age.
An important part of creating a fitness regime for seniors is to make it safe, effective and enjoyable. Working with a fitness professional who understands the unique needs of seniors can make a world of difference. They can help with adjusting pace, integrating different exercises, and making sure you don’t injure yourself.
Seniors can explore the myriad of options available at PURE, like group fitness classes and complimentary one-on-one training sessions with our PTs to prioritise their health and well-being.
BOOK A COMPLIMENTARY PT SESSION

體驗 PURE 獨家優惠
預約參觀
Blog

50後 如何為健康排優次

2024 年 3 月 28 日

年過50,動力少不免下降,但不應左右大眾追求靈活性和強健心臟的永恆目標。
健身室不應只是年輕人的遊樂場,更可是熟齡人士的後花園。因為運動可減少疾病、降低抑鬱、提升認知能力及骨骼健康,更有助改善肌肉流失和新陳代謝變慢等等。
以上狀況,如您已面對其中一項,我們已經向PURE的運動專家徵集建議,全力助您制定合適的鍛煉,以便您為自身健康作優先安排。
靈活性+活動能力UP!
健身球運動是提升這些方面的絕佳起點!它有助保持和改善活動範圍,對於從高架取物到在公園散步等一切活動,都有著很大的支持作用。
另外,瑜伽裡的橋式動作可以加強身體的核心支撐,增強核心肌肉,有助於改善姿勢,減少背部疼痛功不可沒。
為代謝調節來一點刺激
中年之後,代謝變慢是常態。為了對抗這一點,建議您試試室內滑雪機(SkiErg) ,在可控制的環境中模擬越野滑雪動作,可提升心血管健康和肌肉耐力,而不會像傳統跑步那樣顛簸。再結合橋式動作,使核心和下身肌肉積極運動,從而維持健康的代謝率。
力量和平衡力 穩定增長
將健康投資在普拉提器械上,絕不會出錯!因為它著眼控制身體動作,針對性地增強力量和平衡。在器械普拉提上進行橋式運動,更可增強下背力量和靈活性,慢慢地提升肌力,從而預防受傷和保持靈活。
是不能與年輕時的自己相比較的,現時健身計劃的首要考慮因素是安全、有效且愉悅。與我們的私人健身教練一同訓練,感受不一樣的改變。他們可以幫助調整節奏、整合不同的運動於您的訓練中,並確保您遠離受傷的機會。
盡情探索PURE提供的各種選擇,例如團體健身課程或與我們的私人健身教練進行免費一對一訓練課堂,以把自己的健康放在首位。
立即預約免費體驗課程