Book a tour

Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga Explained with Clayton Horton

31 December 2023

About this Online Event

The Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga are the 8 divisions of the Science of Yoga as presented by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. The first 4 limbs relate to the external or visible parts of the practice. Limbs 5 through 8 are regarded as the internal limbs that take the practitioner to a deeper understanding of the self and the unified field of consciousness.

 Class 1: Yama & Niyama  
The Yamas and the Niyamas are the first and second limbs of Ashtanga Yoga.
They are important ethical and moral guidelines to ground the student on the spiritual path with minimal suffering.

Class 2: Asanas
What is an asana? How does Patanjali define it? When is it mastered? This is the foundation of the practice.

Class 3: Pranayama
Breath control. In this class, we will discuss the how and why of Pranayama with some entry-level techniques.
Bonus: Additional practical pranayama

Class 4: Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi
Turning awareness inwards, concentration, meditation and merging with the universal consciousness are topics that are not always discussed in an ordinary yoga class setting. Join Clayton for a simplified and practical journey towards the self.



Masterclass Language




No refund or credit will be given for cancellations.



Replay available for up to 30 days from purchase date.

Clayton Horton
Born in Oklahoma, US, Clayton is an experienced and internationally known KPJAYI Certified Ashtanga yoga instructor. Clayton studied with masters Sri K. Pattabhi Jois and the Greensufi for 14 years, both of whom gave him great inspiration to practise daily and develop a yogic lifestyle.